Eaton & Eccleston Parish Council – Districts

Situated by the banks of the River Dee on the outskirts of the ancient Roman City of Chester, the picturesque parishes of Eaton and Eccleston were amalgamated to form the civil parish of ‘Eaton and Eccleston’ in 2015.


With a population of approximately 220, the attractive Cheshire village of Eccleston forms part of the Duke of Westminster’s Eaton Estate. Mentioned in the 1086 Doomsday book, the village of Eccleston is believed to be named after a combination of ancient Welsh and English terms for both a ‘church and settlement’. The village boundaries contain an ancient motte known as Eccleston Mound – the motte is listed as a Scheduled Monument and is believed to date from the medieval period. Dating from the early 17th century the area is also home to a number of listed buildings, including many picturesque homes designed by the renowned Cheshire architect, John Douglas. Commissioned by the 1st Duke of Westminster, the late 19th century Anglican parish church of St Mary’s is a dominant feature of the village. More details of services and events at St Mary’s Church can be obtained via the following link: Click here…

Map shows the Eaton Park and the village of Eccleston.


The parish of Eaton principally consists of the Duke of Westminster’s Eaton Hall and park, which are collectively known as Eaton Estate. The area contains many listed structures and buildings including the Grade I listed 19th century chapel, which was designed by Alfred Waterhouse, and the early 18th century ornate wrought iron gates. The Eaton grounds are often opened to the general public with all entry proceeds being donated to local charities. Further details of the ‘Eaton Hall Gardens Charity Open Days’ can be found via the following link: Click here…